Random Thoughts: Covering up

On today’s Random Thoughts, we’ll discuss the subject of cover songs. I personally love most cover songs, as they generally offer a fresh new taste on a song, sometimes in a genre that is completely different in sound and style from the original. Now, some people I’ve talked to really don’t like the idea of covers, as they feel that the cover is essentially theft of the song from the original artist. That’s a completely different discussion onto itself, but I generally am in support of a cover if it is distinct enough from the original. Exhibit A:

The song looked at here is Just the Way You Are, sung by Bruno Mars and covered by Pierce the Veil. I actually heard the Pierce the Veil version first, which convinced me to go find the original. As you can pretty easily tell in the first minute or so of each song, they have similar themes musically, but Just the Way You Are sounds very different as a punk song than in more of an R&B style. Again, they do need to be quite different in order to be really good covers in my mind.

 

Exhibit B:

Here’s a look at two different versions of Crash into Me, originally by Dave Matthews Band and covered by Boyce Avenue. Crash into Me is originally a very mellow, almost acoustic song in nature. While Boyce Avenue does do a good job with the song, taking it all the way to full acoustic, he doesn’t really put a new spin on the song. I still love this cover of Crash into Me, but it’s mainly because I love this song a ton (I wrote an essay on it back in high school, so I have a bit of a bias towards it).

 

Covers aren’t for everyone, but it is a fun way to experience a song in a new light. And parody songs take that a step further, which is why I love Weird Al so much. Now, what prompted this Random Thought? This song:

 

Quite possibly one of my favorite songs at the moment, no questions asked. What are your favorite covers?

Leave a Reply

